I hacked my way to Jollibee’s Spaghetti Recipe

Jollibee Spaghetti

I love Jollibee’s Spaghetti. Admittedly, it isn’t the best spaghetti in the Philippines but it takes me back to a place that is special to me – my childhood.

In my quest to have a hefty helping of the Bee’s spaghetti in my house, I tried out several combinations until I found the closest at least according to my taste. Try out the recipe and enjoy!

Ingredients:

2 medium-sized onions (white for a subtler and sweeter taste or red for more pungency)
4 to 6 cloves of garlic minced
1 small packet of tomato paste
1/3 cup sugar (adjust according to your taste)
flour or cornstarch
250 grams ham (sweet ham or regular ham), diced
4 pieces hotdog (I used Tender Juicy), cut according to your preference
Salt
Pepper
Beef broth (or you can dissolve 2 Knorr beef cubes in 3 to 4 cups hot water)
Pasta
Cooking Oil

For the Pasta:

  1. Cook the pasta according to the instructions.
  2. When cooked, set aside.

For the Spaghetti Sauce:

  1. Heat oil in a pan or wok.
  2. Add the onions. Saute until transparent.
  3. Add the garlic. Saute for a minute or two.
  4. Add the ham. Stir for a minute and then add the hotdogs. Season with salt and pepper.
  5. Add the beef broth (or the alternative). Wait for the mixture to boil.
  6. When the meat and broth are boiling, add the tomato paste. Stir until the paste is completely dissolved.
  7. Add the sugar. Stir until the sugar is dissolved. At this point, you need to consistently check on the taste of your spaghetti sauce. If you need it to be more salty or smoky, add salt and pepper. You can also add more sugar if you need to.
  8. Dissolve the flour in hot water. Add to the sauce. If the sauce is not thick enough for you, add more dissolved flour.
  9. When satisfied with the taste and texture of your sauce, add the pasta. Allow it to simmer with the sauce for a minute or two. If your pasta isn’t al dente, allow it to simmer until you think it is al dente.
  10. Transfer your spaghetti and sprinkle with your choice of cheese.

 

I hope you enjoy this homemade Jollibee recipe the way I am enjoying my spaghetti now.

 

– Zoya-

One Comment Add yours

  1. Jasmine S. says:

    Yesssss…love Jollibee’s spaghetti! Will have to try this!

Leave a Reply

